Bilateral relations of Tajikistan with Luxembourg

17.01.2024 15:11

Bilateral relations of Tajikistan with Luxembourg

Diplomatic relations between the Republic of Tajikistan and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg were established on May 22, 1992.

The Embassy of the Republic of Tajikistan in Belgium covers the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg as well. The Embassy of Luxembourg to the Republic of Tajikistan functions with residence in Moscow.

The official visits of the President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon show the willingness of the Government of Tajikistan to develop bilateral relations.

During the establishment of diplomatic relations, the President of the Republic of Tajikistan, Emomali Rahmon twice visited the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. During the visits, meaningful and constructive meetings were held with Grand Duke Henry and a number of officials, Luxembourgish businessmen, as well as issues related to the current state and prospects of bilateral cooperation, regional cooperation, security, energy and water were discussed.

The exchange of official visits, including the official visit of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg to Dushanbe, as well as close cooperation within the framework of international organizations, gave new impetus to the further expansion of bilateral relations between Tajikistan and Luxembourg.

Cooperation between the Republic of Tajikistan and Luxembourg in the field of economy and trade is at an early stage of development and is mainly carried out with the European Investment Bank, which is based in Luxembourg.

In 2010, on the joint initiative of Tajikistan and the Office of the Prime Minister and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg, the Friendship Society of Tajikistan and Luxembourg was established, which was included in the list of public organizations of Luxembourg.

Tajikistan and Luxembourg actively cooperate within the framework of international organizations such as the UN, OSCE, etc.

The legal framework for cooperation between the two states is formed by intergovernmental and interdepartmental agreements.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          January, 2024